Skip to main content


By November 27, 2017February 15th, 2022News

LIEGE, a graduate of the 2014 Cape Premier Yearling Sale, captured Sunday’s Gr1 Sansui Summer Cup over 2000m at Turffontein in thrilling style.

Jockey Raymond Danielson had Liege in midfield as Crowd Pleaser set a solid gallop. Liege, who had finished fourth in this race last year, made good progress when the runners cornered into the straight to take over about 300m out and won a good race.

Liege started at 16-1 and beat Fort Ember with Coral Fever third and favourite Pagoda fourth. Early favourite Orchid Island finished sixth.
Danielson said afterwards: “I’ve never ridden Liege in a race although I have worked him once or twice at home. He didn’t feel at home like he did today. He felt very well – I feel I rode the best horse in the race (and he proved it).

“Liege was cruising at the 400m. When I sent him I felt I might have gone a little early and I didn’t expect him to kick like that.
“Obviously I was drawn No 2, so I didn’t have to use him to get up there. Once I asked him to quicken, he quickened well. Mr Tarry has his horses fit and he made it to the line.”

Tarry saddled the 2009 winner Aslan, said: “Liege has always been a promising horse. I trained his brother, called Lance, who was a very talented horse but needed to be gelded if he was to continue racing. We sent him to stud and his pedigree will now look stronger on paper.”

South Africa’s latest equine millionaire, Liege, now a six time winner pushed his earnings to R1 855 000 for his owners Chris van Niekerk and Markus Jooste. The five-year-old was one of two runners in the 2017 Summer Cup sired by Highlands Stud’s super stallion Dynasty.

Liege was bred on the hugely successful Dynasty/Jallad cross, with this mating having also resulted in the G1 winners It’s My Turn (Cape Derby) and Eyes Wide Open (Premiers Champion Stakes), as well as former G1 Vodacom Durban July runner up Run For It.

Liege is a first Summer Cup winner for Dynasty, whose progeny have already won such major races as the G1 Vodacom Durban July, G1 J&B Met, G1 L’Ormarins Queen’s Plate, G1 Paddock Stakes (3 times), G1 Cape Derby (3 times) and G1 Cape Guineas.