Equus Awards Finalists

Equus Awards Finalists

CTS News

THE Equus Awards voting panel met at Greyville last weekend to decide the finalists for this season’s racing awards.

The voting panel comprised Andrew Harrison, Matthew Lips, Jason Dedekind, Roger Smith, Michael Clower and RA chairman Larry Wainstein as non-voting chairperson.

The panel submitted their first round of nominations after Vodacom Durban July Day and voting for the finalists took place after the Gold Cup race meeting on Sunday.

The winners will be announced at gala event at Emperor’s Palace on Tuesday 15 August.

The categories and finalists are:

Champion Two-year-old Colt – distance immaterial: Eyes Wide Open, Mustaaqeem, Sand And Sea.

Champion Two-year-old Filly – distance immaterial: Brave Mary, Lady In Black

Champion Three-year-old Colt – distance immaterial: Al Sahem, Edict Of Nantes, Heavenly Blue, William Longsword.

Champion Three-year-old Filly – distance immaterial: Just Sensual, Lady Of The House.

Champion Older Male – distance immaterial: Captain America, Legal Eagle, Marinaresco, Whisky Baron.

Champion Older Filly/Mare – distance immaterial: Bela-Bela, Carry On Alice, Nightingale, Nother Russia.

Champion Sprinter – (1000m-1200m; age/gender immaterial): Bull Valley, Carry On Alice, Rafeef.

Champion Miler – (1400m-1600m; age/gender immaterial): Bela-Bela, Captain America, Legal Eagle, William Longsword.

Champion Middle Distance – (1800m-2200m; age/gender immaterial): Legal Eagle, Marinaresco, Whisky Baron

Champion Stayer – (2400m+; age/gender immaterial): Al Sahem, Hermoso Mundo

Voting criteria: The awards are based on graded races and in particular Grade 1 races. As regards the stayer category, the winning horse will be at the discretion of the voting panel. This decision was taken as the only Grade 1 race in SA is the SA Derby, which would mean that this should be the obvious winner based on a single run. This would also have excluded fillies and mares.

Breeder Awards: Stallion of the Year; Broodmare of the Year; Breeder of the Year.

The Thoroughbred Breeders Association may include outstanding and/or international achievement awards.

Individual Awards: Champion Apprentice – Lyle Hewitson; Champion Jockey – Anthony Delpech; Champion Owner (based on stakes earned) – Mayfair Speculators (Pty) Ltd; Champion Trainer (based on stakes earned) – Sean Tarry.

Industry Merit Award

Horse of the Year Award.

Photo: Edict Of Nantes, nominated in Champion Three-Year-Old Colt category.